top of page
  • Writer's pictureMela Malibu

Beauty Referral: A good sunscreen, Suntegrity, Derma-e, and Sun Bum

Ever since leaving my job working at a vegan beauty company, and gained great insight into the world of beauty, and specifically cosmetics, I had decided that building my collection of vegan, and healthy beauty products were something I would gather for my cosmetic collection.


After years of struggling with ruthless acne problems, oily skin, and other stressful skin related issues, I decided to start with the first step in my make-up routine, sunscreen. I had read it's the best regimen anyone could use to minimize the effects of aging on the skin, and my aesthetician recommended I incorporate it into my morning routine to prevent the rosacea caused by my acne scarring from getting worse. From that moment on, I made the decision to invest my money and time in applying sunscreen on my face before my makeup, and my skin has seen remarkable effects.


Below, are the three sunscreen's I've used so far, and have experienced positive results from. I have used all of the sunscreen's listed for a minimum of 2 years, and are all listed by price, from most to least wallet friendly.



Sunscreen is the best defense you can provide your skin against the signs of aging. So why not invest in one that's healthy, and easy to incorporate into your beauty routine?

Suntegrity Natural Moisturizing Face Sunscreen & Primer, SPF 30 (Credo Beauty, 1.7oz., $45)

Pros:

- It has a great scent with some light citrus notes, but not strong or overpowering by any means

- I feel like I am getting thorough coverage, without clogging my pores

- The pump works very well and helps with using a little bit, so to not waste the product -- a little bit does go a long way with this product, so do be conservative with how much you use.

- It travels well and doesn't take up too much room in my makeup bag

Cons:

- It is thicker sunscreen, so it requires a little bit more rubbing in

- It is a little pricey at $45 a bottle


I have used other more wallet friendly sunscreens and have had equally effective results. The Derma-e Sun Defense Mineral Oil-Free Sunscreen Face is also great for sensitive skin, especially with being oil free.


Derma-e Sun Defense Mineral Oil-Free Sunscreen Face (Derma-e 2oz,, $19.95)

Pros:

-Little to no scent

-Although it is oil free, it contains a smooth consistency that makes it easy to spread around the face

-Because of it's smooth consistency a little bit goes a long way

- Good price for the amount you get

Cons:

- It can be a little more dewy and not have the staying powers of a thicker sunscreen


Sun Bum Face Sunscreen, SPF50, (Target, 30z Face Lotion,$8.99)

Pros:

-Full coverage and protection. High SPF of 50.

-Smooth consistency

- A very nice scent. I believe it is banana scented.

-Less oily than the body sunscreen, so it doesn't feel like it will clog up any face pores


Cons:

-Can be a little oily, and separation make occur, so shaking it is required.



This is an unsolicited review. Therefore, I personally recommend looking for a sunscreen that will keep your skin looking beautiful, and holds up for the entire day without making your skin feel, clogged, oily or dewy.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page