top of page
  • Writer's pictureMela Malibu

Style Referral: Best brands for a stylish yet professional wardrobe

Updated: Feb 4, 2019

Dressing appropriately for work in a world where business-casual is just as common as kombucha on tap (or nitro coffee--pick your poison). As convenient and as it may be to be able to throw on your best athleisure or crew-neck tee shirt and jeans for the casual work meeting, there is also value in how you compose and present yourself to your colleagues, and more importantly, managers and supervisors. It is completely acceptable to own the business casual wardrobe, but I want to help you do it with minimalism in mind, while being professional.


The way I compose myself every morning is a reflection of the message I am sending to my supervisors and colleagues. As the common axiom goes, dress for the job you want, not the job you have. I approach my days with the words of the famous American costume designer, Edith Head, in mind, "You can have anything you want in life if you dress for it."





While I believe that is true, I think a professional wardrobe can be achieved with minimalism. You don't need to go out and buy dozens of new tops, and jeans. If you have a great of blue jeans, black jeans, a basic top, a colorful or printed blouse, and a blazer, you can create multiple outfits that say "I am here to work and lead this team."


I've compiled a list of some of my favorite brands that have pieces for any workplace dress code, as well as, some of the essentials, for inspiration.


If you need tips for your next interview or company event, please message me and I will be happy to help you find the perfect outfit.



Recommended brands:

-Madewell

-J.Crew

-Loft

-Anthropologie

-Free People ( if styles appropriately)

-H&M


4 views0 comments
bottom of page