top of page
  • Writer's pictureMela Malibu

Meal Prepping: Breakfast

Updated: Feb 4, 2019

Meal prepping isn't a new phenomenon but is one that I have recently adopted. I am newly married, have a full time job workin for a tech company, and also in my mid-to-late 20s finally established an exercised routine. Between my job, workout routine, and school (I will discuss that later), my desire and ambition for making mornings easier is in full effect.


I admit, the idea of meal prepping was a little intimidating to me. The thought of cooking for hours and creating perfectly portioned meals for all 5-days of the week was an overwhelming endeavor in my mind. After doing research, I discerned that meal prepping was something that was feasible for me if I approached it one meal at a time. I am someone that believes in the common axiom that "breakfast is the most important meal of the day". Breakfast nourishes me and my mind for the day that lies ahead.



By putting parchment paper in between each waffle you can assure the waffles don't stick together once they freeze.

My mornings are a bit rushed with getting dressed, putting makeup on, packing my school or gym bag for whichever activity I may be going to after work, and snacks for the day. Therefore, breakfast must be something easy that I can eat on my way out the door, in the car, or once I get to work. I also must start my day by eating at least one piece of fruit, likely a banana--that is when frozen waffles, pancakes, toast, or oatmeal come into the conversation.


My husband and I love making buckwheat and multigrain waffles and on Sunday mornings, so using that time to incorporate a quick and easy breakfast food into my meal prepping became a logical and easy decision. One of my other New Year resolutions is to save money on groceries since that is an expense my husband and I both determined was one of our highest, thus finding ways to save became a priority.


Health is of superior value to myself and my husband so making food that is delicious and nutritious was also a focus of mine when making the waffles. The recipe I used for the waffles in the photo is the Arrowhead Mills Organic Buckwheat Pancake & Waffle Mix, or as an alternative, I will use the Arrowhead Mills Organic Sprouted Grain Pancake & Waffle Mix. Both mixes are full of fiber and other nutritious ingredients to get the day started feeling energized.


I adjust my recipe to be 100% vegan by substituting The Neat Egg egg substitute for eggs, and use almond milk in place of dairy milk. I will also occasionally add dark-chocolate morsels or blueberries, but adding any other fruit, or even walnuts could be a great way to add protein and healthy fats to this recipe.



To make the recipe for either pancake or waffle mix I follow the recipe on the Arrowhead Mills bag, and use two tablespoons of water to one tablespoon of The Neat Egg egg substitute.


Recipe for Pancakes (Source: the back of the Arrowhead Mills Organic Buckwheat Pancake & Waffle Mix bag)


Vegan Buckwheat Waffles: (makes about 5-7)

Ingredients:

1 Cup Arrowhead Mills Buckwheat Pancake & Waffle Mix

1 Egg Substitute

*(if using the Neat Egg, use 2 Tbs water to 1 Tbsp. of Neat Egg), this is the equivalent to 1 Egg

1 Tbsp. Spectrum Canola Oil (I use 1 Tbsp. Grapeseed Oil), but any other nut oil, or vegan oil should suffice.

1 Tbsp. Honey (this can be substituted for Agave)

1 Cup Almond Milk (or, other nut milk of your choice)


Cooking Directions

1. Stir all ingredients only until lumps disappear

Note: If using the Neat Egg egg substitute, I recommend mixing that separately, and then adding it in to the mixture)

2. Cook according to your waffle maker or iron's instructions.


To Freeze:

1. Let the waffles cook for 5-10 minutes.

2. If you have a large roll of parchment paper, you can cut squares or circles to separate your waffles to keep from freezing together, and for an easy grab and go option.


Enjoy! :)

13 views0 comments
bottom of page